There was an error in this gadget

Wednesday, December 14, 2011

Book Review - "Gone" by Michael Grant

Publisher - HarperTeen
Release Date - July 1, 2008
# of pages - 558
Series - Gone #1


In the blink of an eye. Everyone disappears. GONE.
Except for the young. Teens. Middle schoolers. Toddlers. But not one single adult. No teachers, no cops, no doctors, no parents. Just as suddenly, there are no phones, no internet, no television. No way to get help. And no way to figure out what's happened.
Hunger threatens. Bullies rule. A sinister creature lurks. Animals are mutating. And the teens themselves are changing, developing new talents—unimaginable, dangerous, deadly powers—that grow stronger by the day.
It's a terrifying new world. Sides are being chosen, a fight is shaping up. Townies against rich kids. Bullies against the weak. Powerful against powerless. And time is running out: On your birthday, you disappear just like everyone else... 



I have expected this to be action-packed and fast paced. I was right. But I did not expected it to be so weird. I mean, there were flying snakes and talking coyotes. Weird.

Event though there is a lot of weird elements in this book, I still thought it was good and very well done. The characters were three-dimensional and for the most realistic.

This novel was very plot driven, and there really were no slow moments. I have found myself confused several times unfortunately.

Overall, I would recomend this to someone who likes a lot of action and craziness, and doesn't like the book to be focused on romance.

Rating - B+

Tuesday, December 13, 2011

In My Mailbox #12

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by the Story Siren.
Hi guys! It's been a long time, since I last posted, but here I am with a late IMM.

  • "Beautiful Chaos" by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl
  • "If I Have a Wicked Stepmother, Where's My Prince" by 
  • "Poison Most Vial" by Benedict Carey
  • "The Breakup 2.0" by Ilana Gershon
  • "The Way It Is" by Donalda Reid




Monday, September 12, 2011

Book Review - "The Sweetest Thing" by Christina Mandelski

Publisher - Egmont USA
Release Date - May 10, 2011
Number of Pages- 352
Source - Netgalley

In the world of Sheridan Wells, life is perfect when she's decorating a cake. Unfortunately everything else is a complete mess: her mom ran off years ago, her dad is more interested in his restaurant, and the idea of a boyfriend is laughable.

But Sheridan is convinced finding her mom will solve all her problems - only her dad's about to get a cooking show in New York, which means her dream of a perfect family will be dashed. 


It's 3:30 AM, as I'm writing this, because I just had to stay up and finish the book. Just like Sheridan's cakes this book was pure perfection.

I expected this book to be a very light read, and in most parts it was, but there were some dark and depressing moments.

I loved all the food references in the book, it really complimented the theme and it made it even more fun to read because I love it when books have something that makes it stand apart from other novels in this genre.

I absolutely loved Jack and Lori. They just had really awesome personalities and were always there for Sheridan.

The setting, writing and pacing of this book is perfectly done as well.(I'm not elaborating because there is not much to say about them)

Overall this book is a beautiful coming- of- age story, that I recommend to anyone who likes food.


Rating - A+

Sunday, September 11, 2011

Book Review - "Anna and the French Kiss"

Publisher - Dutton
Release Date - December 2, 2010
Number of Pages - 372
Source - Library

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris - until she meets Etienne St. Clair: perfect, Parisian (and English and American, which makes for a swoon-worthy accent), and utterly irresistible. The only problem is that he's taken, and Anna might be, too, if anything comes of her almost-relationship back home.

As winter melts into spring, will a year of romantic near - misses end with the French kiss Anna - and readers - have long awaited?




AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

holy crap, this is like  the best book ever!
It is like a perfect sundae. The characters are the awesome scoops of ice-cream, the plot is like hot fudge, the setting is like a pretty umbrella with awesome writing and perfect pacing sprinkled on top. You gotta read it.

Rating - A+ 

Saturday, September 10, 2011

In My Mailbox #11

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristy at Story Siren

I got two books that I'm stoked to read. Hope you guys had a great bookish week also!
                                                                 
  • "There You'll Find Me" by Jenny B. Jones (netgalley)
  • "Bright Young Things" by Anna Godbersen (bought)



Tuesday, September 6, 2011

Book Review - "The Sky Is Everywhere" by Jandy Nelson

Publisher - Dial
Release Date - March 9, 2010
Number of Pages - 272
Source - Library






Synopsis - Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life - and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey's boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie's own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they're the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can't collide without the whole wide world exploding.


This book was just okay for me. Nothing special.

I think that the author plotted a great storyline with some typical contemporary elements. There were some great twists! The start was a little slow, though.

The characters were all likeable and unique, however I did not develop strong emotional connections with them. Lennie was also a Mary Sue sometimes.

I wasn't too impressed with the setting. I didn't find it original, because this was probably the 5th, or so, book that I've read this year with the 'small town town in North Carolina' setting. There were also some unrealistic elements e.g. a bed in a middle of a forest, etc.

I was quite impressed with the style of writing! I thought it was situation appropriate and that the dialogue was very realistic. Also the poems that were in between chapters were awesome.

The pacing was a little slow at first, but it was perfect throughout the rest of the book.

Unfortunately I didn't really feel the 'wow' factor while reading this book. This book just didn't stand out for me.

The cover was very well designed and visually appealing! The paperback cover is even prettier!

Overall, it was okay.

Rating - B

Happy Reading!  

Teaser Tuesday! September 6, 2011

Hi guys!

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser:   "I'm out of practice not having had to manufacture a lie in quite a long time. I have to say, that isn't a bad place to be, where you don't have to lie.
                                                                                             ("Glass", by Ellen Hopkins) 

Happy Reading!

Friday, September 2, 2011

In My Mailbox #10

 In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi at Story Siren

Hi guys! I got tons of books this week, but I'm really excited for them.

  • "Blood Red Road" by Moira Young
  • "Glass" by Ellen Hopkins 
  • "Addison Blakety : Confessions of a PK" by Betsy St. Amant
  • "The Sweetest Thing" by Christina Mandelski
  • "Wanderlove" by Kirsten Hubbard
  • "Spirit's Princess" by Esther Friesner 
  • "The Girl in the Park" by Mariah Fredericks 



 What have you got in your mailbox?

Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Book Review - "Beauty Queens" by Libba Bray

Publisher - Scholastic Press
Release Date - May 24, 2011
Number of Pages - 390
Source - Bought

The fifty contestants in the Miss Teen Dream pageant thought this was going to be a fun trip to the beach, where they could parade in their state-appropriate costumes and compete in front of the cameras. But sadly, their airplane had another idea crashing on a desert island and leaving the survivors stranded with little food, little water, and practically no eyeliner.

What's a beauty queen to do? Continue to practice for the talent portion of the program--or wrestle snakes to the ground? Get a perfect tan--or learn to run wild? And what should happen when the sexy pirates show up?

Welcome to the heart of non-exfoliated darkness. Your tour guide? None other than Libba Bray, the hilarious, sensational, Printz Award-winning author of A Great and Terrible Beauty and Going Bovine. The result is a novel that will make you laugh, make you think, and make you never see beauty the same way again.




I purchased this book because of the amazingness of "A Great and Terrible Beauty" and the wonderful concept. I used to be obsessed with pageants when I wa s younger, so I knew that I need to pick this up. Overall, "Beauty Queens" was like an amazing trip with a few bumps in the road.

First of all, the story idea is original and fun! The plot is interesting in most places, but slow and boring in a moment or two. The characters definitely rule the book! They are all different, and they blend in with each other. As the story goes on, we find out more things about them and also their back story, which I thought was awesome!


Libba's writing style in this book was very satiric, which made reading even more fun. But the best part of this book is the format. There are not only the regular story chapters, but also commercial breaks, footnotes, confidential chapters, words from sponsors and profile pages! That has really made the book a great experience.

This book explores some really taboo issues and has a lot of girl power. It also felt like an episode of CSI sometimes.

However, this book has had a bunch of slow and boring moments, and towards the end, the footnotes were starting to get annoying.


Overall, this is a great summery book and I definitely recommend, despite these small downfalls.
Rating: A-



 

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

Teaser Tuesday! August 30, 2011

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
My teaser:
 I look away from him and toward the city. I have to focus. I climbed up here for a reason.
                                          - "Divergent" by Veronica 
                                                       Roth. Page 145
I'm back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Happy Reading

Sunday, August 14, 2011

In My Mailbox #9

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi from The Story Siren.

Lots of books recently!Can't wait to show you.

"Speak" by Laurie Halse Anderson










"Fade" by Lisa McMann










"Hannah" by Kathryn Lasky










What have you got in you mailbox?

Happy Reading!

Saturday, July 9, 2011

In My Mailbox #8

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi for The Story Siren.

4 books! Some of them I got a little earlier than this week, but I didn't show them to you yet, so I'll show you now!

Bought:
  • "The Rescue" by Nicholas Sparks
  • "13 Little Blue Envelopes" by Maureen Johnson
  • " All-American Girl" by Meg Cabot
 Library:
  • " The Sky is Everywhere" by Jandy Nelson
Happy Reading!

Friday, July 8, 2011

Book Review - "What Happenned to Goodbye" by Sarah Dessen

Publisher - Penguin Young Readers Group
Release Date - May 10, 2011
Number of Pages - 402
Source - Library
Genre - YA, contemporary, romance, realistic.






Since her parents' bitter divorce, McLean and her dad, a restaurant consultant, have been on the move-four towns in two years. Estranged from her mother and her mother's new family, McLean has followed her dad in leaving the unhappy past behind. And each new place gives her a chance to try out a new persona: from cheerleader to drama diva. But now, for the first time, McLean discovers a desire to stay in one place and just be herself, whoever that is. Perhaps Dave, the guy next door, can help her find out. 

It is always a joy to sit down with a Sarah Dessen book. The heartwarming feeling was there as always. This was not my favourite Sarah Dessen novel, nut it still had the charm.

Let's talk about the bad stuff first, to get it over and done with. Thankfully there's not a lot of these. In this book, the characters didn't feel as deep as usually in other Dessen novels. Also, at the beginning of the book, the pacing was a little too slow for me. That is all for the bad stuff.

Now for the good stuff. The plot was definitely planned out very well, and it felt the same yet different from the other Sarah Dessen books. It's kind of hard to explain.The writing as captivating and enthralling as always.
The cover was also a beauty.


Overall, this novel was pretty good. It was the best book I've ever read, but I stilll recomend it. Even though, this book had a few drawbacks, Sarah Dessen is still one of my favourite authors.


Rating - B+ (I changed my rating scale)


Happy Reading!

Blogging Schedule

I've been MIA. I don't know why. I just have been MIA. But, I'm planning to change that by issuing a schedule for myself. Here it is:

Monday - review
Tuesday - teaser tuesday
Wednesday - Can't wait to read book
Thursday - review
Friday - review
Saturday - IMM
Sunday - author info/review/tag/day off

I really want to be more committed to this blog, so I am gonna stick to the schedule. Hopefully.


Happy Reading!

Sunday, June 26, 2011

In My Mailbox #7

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi from The Story Siren

3 books this week! Yay!

  • "Where She Went" by Gayle Forman (library)
  • "Midnight for Charlie Bone" by Jenny Nimmo (bought)
  • "Nights of Rain and Stars" by Maeve Binchy


Tuesday, May 31, 2011

Teaser Tuesday! May 31, 2011

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
My teaser:
 
The best thing about crying is that it always knocks me out. I slept really well last night, even with the stupid dogs howling around midnight or so. 

(Need by Carrie Jones, page 18)

Book Review - "Across the Universe" by Beth Revis

Publisher - Razorbill
Release Date - January 11, 2011
Number of Pages - 398
Series - Across the Universe #1
Source - Library



Seventeen-year-old Amy joins her parents as frozen cargo aboard the vast spaceship Godspeed and expects to awaken on a new planet, three hundred years in the future. Never could she have known that her frozen slumber would come to an end fifty years too soon and that she would be thrust into the brave new world of a spaceship that lives by its own rules.
Amy quickly realizes that her awakening was no mere computer malfunction. Someone-one of the few thousand inhabitants of the spaceship-tried to kill her. And if Amy doesn't do something soon, her parents will be next.
Now Amy must race to unlock Godspeed's hidden secrets. But out of her list of murder suspects, there's only one who matters: Elder, the future leader of the ship and the love she could never have seen coming.


Well, I'm changing my review format again. I want my reviews to be a little more detailed, which is the reason why. 

Anyways, let's get on with the review. This book takes place in space. Cool, right? The main setting is the spaceship Godspeed. The setting was created and described really well, I could almost feel like I was there.


The concept of this book is really unique. There's a mix of sci-fi, dystopian, mystery  and romance. There's just no other  book like it. The storyline is really interesting!

Characters...just amazing.

This book deals with a lot of social issues, which I loved. Seriously, I have no idea how Beth Revis could plan such an amazing story! She's a genius!

Overall, this book was amazing! One of the best this year!
5/5


Saturday, May 28, 2011

In My Mailbox #6

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.

Only two!






"Hex Hall" by Rachel Hawkins (Bought)
"Beautiful Darkness" by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl (Library)

So excited!

Thursday, May 26, 2011

Book Review - "The Iron King" by Julie Kagawa

Publisher - Harlequin Teen
Release Date - February 1, 2010
Number of Pages - 363
Series - Iron Fey #1


The blurb from the back:
Meghan Chase has a secret destiny—one she could never have imagined…
Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan's life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school…or at home.
When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar, and her prankster best friend becomes strangely protective of her, Meghan senses that everything she's known is about to change.
But she could never have guessed the truth—that she is the daughter of a mythical faery king and is a pawn in a deadly war. Now Meghan will learn just how far she'll go to save someone she cares about, to stop a mysterious evil no faery creature dare face…and to find love with a young prince who might rather see her dead than let her touch his icy heart.


Pros
- So unique! Seriously... was not expecting it to be like that.
- It had some very likeable characters (Puck, Grimalkin)
- Beautiful cover

Cons
- At a particular moment I felt that there were too many battles.
- Meghan really annoyed me

- Overall, just didn't enjoy it.

Overall, okay
2.5/5

Tuesday, May 24, 2011

Teaser Tuesday! May 24 2011

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
My teaser:
 
He paused expectantly.
"Yeah?" I prodded, having no idea where he was going with this.
 (Haven by Kristi Cook, page 239)
 

Tuesday, May 17, 2011

Teaser Tuesdays! May 17, 2011

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
My teaser:
 
A branch snapped in the trees, closer this time. I shifted uncomfortably, determined not to turn around for some stupid squirrel or raccoon. ("The Iron King" by Julie Kagawa, Page 17) 
 

Book Review - "If I Stay" by Gayle Forman

Publisher - Speak
Release Date - January 1, 2009
Number of Pages - 259
Series - If I Stay #1




 THIS BOOK WAS AMAZING!

In a single moment, everything changes. Seventeen-year-old Mia has no memory of the accident; she can only recall riding along the snow-wet Oregon road with her family. Then, in a blink, she finds herself watching as her own damaged body is taken from the wreck...

Pros
- Everything about this book is amazing!


Cons
- It is impossible for this masterpiece to have any cons

I love this book! 
5/5

Saturday, May 14, 2011

In My Mailbox #5

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.

Only two this week :






Library
"City of Bones" by Cassandra Clare
"The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner" by Stephenie Meyer (audiobook)

I will not participate in In My Mailbox next week. Just saying.

Book Review - "The Body Finder" by Kimberly Derting

Publisher - HarperTeen
Release Date - March 16, 2010
Number of Pages- 336
Series - The Body Finder #1






The blurb :
Violet Ambrose is grappling with two major issues: Jay Heaton and her morbid secret ability. While the sixteen-year-old is confused by her new feelings for her best friend since childhood, she is more disturbed by her "power" to sense dead bodies—or at least those that have been murdered. Since she was a little girl, she has felt the echoes that the dead leave behind in the world... and the imprints that attach to their killers.

Violet has never considered her strange talent to be a gift; it mostly just led her to find the dead birds her cat had tired of playing with. But now that a serial killer has begun terrorizing her small town, and the echoes of the local girls he's claimed haunt her daily, she realizes she might be the only person who can stop him.

Despite his fierce protectiveness over her, Jay reluctantly agrees to help Violet on her quest to find the murderer—and Violet is unnerved to find herself hoping that Jay's intentions are much more than friendly. But even as she's falling intensely in love, Violet is getting closer and closer to discovering a killer... and becoming his prey herself.


Pros
- Paranormal, romance and mystery all in one!
- Amazingly written! Even though it was written from 3rd person, I could still know what the characters were feeling and thinking, it was great! 
- Very realistic characters. I could relate a lot.
- Unique concept
- Pretty shade of blue on the cover.


Cons
- It was a great book, but it just wasn't perfect. There was this thing that made me not give this book 5 stars. It just wasn't...captivating. It didn't suck me in like, let's say, Princess Diaries series.


A really good book overall. I want to read the next one.
4.5/5

Wednesday, May 11, 2011

Book Review - "The Luxe" by Anna Godbersen

Publisher - Harper Collins
Release Date - November 20, 2007
Number of Pages - 433








Haven't posted a review in a while, so here you go!
The summary:
In the self-contained world of young Gilded Age Manhattan socialites, Elizabeth and Diana Holland reign supreme. Or so it seems. Scratch the surface, though, and you can detect festering jealousies that threaten to topple them. Elizabeth suffers a more literal fall when her carriage overturns and she is carried away by the swift East River current.


Pros
- Scandals, secrets, drama! So intense!
- THE COVER!
- Each chapter started with either an invitation, newspaper article or something like that. That was really cool.
- The setting ( New York in 1899) is very believable.
- Well-written

Cons
- Well, if you think about it...I've got nothing

Amazing book!
5/5

Saturday, May 7, 2011

In My Mailbox #4

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi from the Story Siren.

I got some awesome books this week!


"Stay" by Deb Calletti (Pulse It)
"Twilight Saga: The Official Illustrated Guide" by Stephenie Meyer (Bought)
"Across the Universe" by Beth Revis (Library)
"Secrets of My Hollywood Life" by Jen Calonita (Library)

Wednesday, May 4, 2011

Book Review - "Jinx" by Meg Cabot

Publisher - HarperTeen
Release Date - August 1, 2007
Number of Pages - 272

Synopsis:
It's not easy being Jinx.

Jean Honeychurch hates her boring name (not Jean Marie, or Jeanette, just . . . Jean). What's worse? Her all-too-appropriate nickname, Jinx. Misfortune seems to follow her everywhere she goes even to New York City, where Jinx has moved to get away from the huge mess she caused in her small hometown. Her aunt and uncle welcome her to their Manhattan town house, but her beautiful cousin Tory isn't so thrilled. . . .

In fact, Tory is hiding a dangerous secret one that could put them all in danger. Soon Jinx realizes it isn't just bad luck she's been running from . . . and that the curse she has lived under since the day she was born may be the only thing that can save her life.


Pros
- I read it in a day. Of course it's good!
- Writing style is amazing! It's so informal yet formal but... I can't explain it.
- Very likeable (and unlikable) characters.
- The story is just so unique... don't I say that for almost every book I read?
- Interesting twists at every corner!
- Pretty cover
- Meg Cabot is not able to write a bad book

Cons
-I chose to do this book for my English project... but I still liked the book!

5/5

Sunday, May 1, 2011

The Little Me Tag

1. The most randomest moment of 2011 so far?
Seeing a teacher running randomly in the hallway turning around with a frightened look on his face. ( Seriously, I have no idea what was going on.)
2. Do you own a e-reader of any type?
No.
3. What is you most scariest childhood memory?
Going to cemetery and seeing a snake.
4. What is your favourite type of gaming console?
Nintendo Wii.
5. What is your current obsession?
Blogging!
6. Do you still have toys/clothes from when you were little?
No.
7. Do you think any movie/drama spoiled the book?
Probably.
8. Your favourite cinema treat?
Popcorn.
9. What are you like when you are hyper?
I sing random songs, say random stuff and I act crazy.
10. What are you three favourite possessions?
My ice skates, my Virgin Mary necklace and my books of course!
11. What is the worst gift you ever got?
A toy gun from my grandpa, when I was 6 (I'm a girl, for crying out loud!)
12. Would you fly a plane or ride a motor bike?
Ride a motor bike.
13. What is the worst song you ever heard?
"Friday" by Rebecca Black
14. What is your favourite board game?
Guess Who?
15. Have you ever tried pocky and if so what did you think of it?
What's pocky?
16. Have you ever taken part in a talent show and if so what do you do and how did you feel?
I auditioned for talent show with my friends in grade 6, but we didn't make it. We sang "Rockstar" by Hannah Montana.

This tag was created by Lolchan from YouTube. I tag everyone who feels like doing this tag!

Book Review - "Beautiful Creatures" by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Publisher - Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Release Date-December 1, 2009 
Number of Pages- 563
Series- Caster Chronicles #1
The synopsis:
There were no surprises in Gatlin County. We were pretty much the epicenter of the middle of nowhere. At least, that's what I thought. Turns out, I couldn't have been more wrong.There was a curse. There was a girl. And in the end, there was a grave.

Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she's struggling to conceal her power, and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.

Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town's oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them. In a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.


Pros
- The characters were really, truly well-done! I grew to care about them and I was close to crying when they were in danger.
- Such an interesting story! Kept me interested the entire time.
- Beautiful writing style
- Pretty cover


Cons
- Even if I wanted to nitpick, I wouldn't be able to find anything I disliked.


AMAZINGNESS!
5/5

Book Review - "Pretty Little Liars" by Sara Shepard

Publisher - Harper Teen
Release Date - October 1, 2006
Number of Pages - 286





The synopsis of this book :
Three years ago, Alison disappeared after a slumber party, not to be seen since. Her friends at the elite Pennsylvania school mourned her, but they also breathed secret sighs of relief. Each of them guarded a secret that only Alison had known. Now they have other dirty little secrets, secrets that could sink them in their gossip-hungry world. When each of them begins receiving anonymous emails and text messages, panic, sets in. Are they being betrayed by some one in their circle? Worse yet: Is Alison back?

Why is there a Barbie doll on the cover?

Pros
- Where should I begin? The plot of course! The things those girls did... forbidden, sexy and dangerous! The author created amazing plot full of crazy stuff!
- Loved all the back story on all the characters! 
- This book is mysterious and creepy. Gave me shivers.
- The concept is so unique!
- Well-written

Cons
- I expected it to be a little more intense.
- It seems unrealistic to me, but I might be wrong
- Once again, WHY IS THERE A BARBIE DOLL ON THE COVER?

Overall a good read! I definitely recommend it! I also recommend the TV show.
4/5     

PS. Can someone tell me why there is a doll on the cover?

Saturday, April 30, 2011

In My Mailbox #3

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi from The Story Siren.

Today I broke my promise to not get any books from the library. But I just couldn't resist!





Library :
- "The Body Finder" by Kimberly Derting
- "Need" by Carrie Jones
- " The Iron King" by Julie Kagawa
- "If I Stay" by Gayle Forman

Bought:
- "All I Want Is Everything" by Cecily von Ziegesar

Thursday, April 28, 2011

Book Review - "Dash & Lily's Book of Dares" by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Publisher - Knopf Books for Young Readers
Release Date - October 26, 2010
Number of Pages -  260




The summary :
“I’ve left some clues for you.
If you want them, turn the page.
If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”

So begins the latest whirlwind romance from the New York Times bestselling authors of Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy? Or are Dash and Lily only destined to trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations across New York? Could their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions? Or will they be a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions?


Pros
- 3-dimensional, well- developed characters.
- Very unique and original story, plot and concept
- It is funny!
- Takes place in New York, with a lot of references to actual places!
- Beautiful cover

Cons
- NONE!

An amazing book! What was ironic about it was that I read during Easter while the book took during Christmas...
5/5

Monday, April 25, 2011

Book Review - "Wither" by Lauren Destafano

Publisher - Simon & Schuster
Release Date -March 22, 2011
Number of Pages - 358
Series - Chemical Garden #1



Another review for you!
The synopsis of this book is :
What if you knew exactly when you would die?

Thanks to modern science, every human being has become a ticking genetic time bomb—males only live to age twenty-five, and females only live to age twenty. In this bleak landscape, young girls are kidnapped and forced into polygamous marriages to keep the population from dying out.

When sixteen-year-old Rhine Ellery is taken by the Gatherers to become a bride, she enters a world of wealth and privilege. Despite her husband Linden's genuine love for her, and a tenuous trust among her sister wives, Rhine has one purpose: to escape—to find her twin brother and go home.

But Rhine has more to contend with than losing her freedom. Linden's eccentric father is bent on finding an antidote to the genetic virus that is getting closer to taking his son, even if it means collecting corpses in order to test his experiments. With the help of Gabriel, a servant Rhine is growing dangerously attracted to, Rhine attempts to break free, in the limted time she has left.



Pros
- Great characters
- This book made me like the dystopian genre a lot more!
- A very interesting plot
- Beautiful cover! Loved the use of symbolism on it.
- Well thought out and described setting.


Cons
- Might be a little disturbing for some people (Not me!)

An amazing book! I am looking forward to the next book!
5/5





Sunday, April 24, 2011

Book Review - "Looking for Alaska" by John Green

  
Publisher -  Puffin
Release Date -  March 3, 2005
Number of Pages -  221


Happy Easter Everyone!
Here's a great book review coming your way

Synopsis:
Miles Halter is fascinated by famous last words and tired of his safe life at home. He leaves for boarding school to seek what the dying poet Francois Rabelais called the "Great Perhaps." Much awaits Miles at Culver Creek, including Alaska Young. Clever, funny, screwed-up, and dead sexy, Alaska will pull Miles into her labyrinth and catapult him into the Great Perhaps. 

Pros
- Very deep, well-developed characters
- Beautifully written
- Meaningful message
- Has a lot of great quotes
- It contains humour


Cons
- Has some very mature content
- Beginning is a little slow

Amazing book! 
4.5/5


 

Saturday, April 23, 2011

In My Mailbox #2

Got some awesome books this week! Some of them I already started reading but forgot to mention them in my last IMM.

"Wither" by Lauren Destefano
"Two Moon Princess" by Carmen Ferreiro-Esteban
"Pretty Little Liars" by Sara Shepard
"Haven" by Kristi Cook




Friday, April 22, 2011

Book Review - "Cryer's Cross" by Lisa McMann

Publisher - Simon Pulse
Release Date -  February 8, 2011
Number of Pages - 223

Hello folks! How are enjoying the start of the Easter weekend? I will start a new thing with my reviews. They will be in "pros and cons" format. Hope that turns out well.

The synopsis of this book is:
The community of Cryer’s Cross, Montana (population 212) is distraught when high school freshman Tiffany disappears without a trace. Already off-balance due to her OCD, 16-year-old Kendall is freaked out seeing Tiffany’s empty desk in the one-room school house, but somehow life goes on... until Kendall's boyfriend Nico also disappears, and also without a trace. Now the town is in a panic. Alone in her depression and with her OCD at an all-time high, Kendall notices something that connects Nico and Tiffany: they both sat at the same desk. She knows it's crazy, but Kendall finds herself drawn to the desk, dreaming of Nico and wondering if maybe she, too, will disappear...and whether that would be so bad. Then she begins receiving graffiti messages on the desk from someone who can only be Nico. Can he possibly be alive somewhere? Where is he? And how can Kendall help him? The only person who believes her is Jacian, the new guy she finds irritating...and attractive. As Kendall and Jacian grow closer, Kendall digs deeper into Nico's mysterious disappearance only to stumble upon some ugly—and deadly—local history. Kendall is about to find out just how far the townspeople will go to keep their secrets buried.



Pros
- very well developed characters
- a very mysterious, well described and interesting setting
- very unique concept
- great writing style

Cons
- some people might find the story slow

A great book overall! I recommend it for fans of horror movies.
4/5

Monday, April 18, 2011

Book Review - "Nightshade" by Andrea Cremer





Another book review folks!
 
Here is the description:

Calla Tor has always known her destiny: After graduating from the Mountain School, she'll be the mate of sexy alpha wolf Ren Laroche and fight with him, side by side, ruling their pack and guarding sacred sites for the Keepers.

But when she violates her masters' laws by saving a beautiful human boy out for a hike, Calla begins to question her fate, her existence, and the very essence of the world she has known. By following her heart, she might lose everything— including her own life. Is forbidden love worth the ultimate sacrifice?


This was a really great book! One of the best things about it was the plot. There were hardly any slow moments in this book. There were so many moments of action and suspense, it just kept you reading and reading. The ending was a little weird. Hardly anything was solved, but I guess it is because there is another book is coming out!

The characters were good. Some of the main characters annoyed me sometimes, but the minor characters were really well done!

The author created a very captivating fantasy world, with lots of rules and history. That was great! The writing was pretty good overall.

The setting was great! It was almost exactly like I imagined it to be. 

Beautiful cover! It`s so shiny and purple, I love it!

I recommend this book for anyone who likes lots of action and suspense. I don`t recommend it for those who hate love triangles.


I really liked this book! 
4 out of 5

 

Sunday, April 17, 2011

In My Mailbox #1


Library
"Being Nikki" by Meg Cabot
"Looking for Alaska" by John Green
"Dash and Lily's Book of Dares" by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Bought
"The Hunger Games" by Suzanne Collins
"The Year I Turned Sixteen" by Diane Schwemm



Sunday, March 20, 2011

Review - "The Truth About Forever" by Sarah Dessen

Publisher - Puffin
Release Date - May 11, 2004
Number of Pages - 390

Long time, no see. I have been extremely busy with everything, that I couldn't update this blog. 


 Anyway, let's get on with the review. This book is about a girl, Macy Queen, who is mourning the loss of her father. She is to spend her summer working at a library, studying for SATs and helping her mother. One day she gets a catering job and finds a new group of friends, and she finds her world completely changing.

This was an excellent book! Right now it is my favourite of Sarah Dessen's! The characters were very good and you can learn some lessons about life in this book. The writing was marvelous. This is something you should really read.

5/5

Monday, February 21, 2011

Update!

Well, it's been awhile since I posted something on this blog and that's because I've been really busy with schoolwork. I apologize for any inconvenience.

 Anyway, I have 3 books that I have to read and there will be reviews for all of them. Right now I'm reading "The Truth About Forever" by Sarah Dessen and I'm about halfway into the book. When I'm done with that I will read "Along for the Ride" also by Sarah Dessen. And then I shall read "The Year I Turned Sixteen" by Diane Schwemm.

 So stay tuned!

Saturday, February 5, 2011

"Love on the Lifts"


Today is Saturday, and it's also my brother's birthday, so happy birthday to him!
 
My next book review will be on the book "Love on the Lifts" by Rachel Hawthorne. This is a teen romance novel and it's great for a nice winter evening by the fire.

The basic plot of this book is about this girl Kate who brings along some friends to spend their break in a condo in Snow Angel Valley. Kate is crushing on her brother's roommate, Brad. She doesn't realize that her brother's friend Joe likes her. A lot. What will happen to them? So that's basically what the book is about.

I really liked this book. It was very romantic and interesting and the characters were great. The two of my favourite characters were Joe and Aunt Sue.

In the first half of the book, Kate really annoyed me. She was just so clueless. I wanted to yell at her "Dude, how could you be so stupid!?"

Overall this book was great!
4.5 

Friday, February 4, 2011

"Wicked" books 1-2 review ( Witch and Curse)


Weekend's finally here! Another reason to be happy!

 And today I will be writing my review #3, which will be on first two books of the series called "Wicked". The two books are called Witch and Curse, and they're published in one big book. Ooo, I almost forgot to mention the authors, Nancy Holder and Debbie Viguie are their names.

The book starts on a very sad and tragic note. This girl, Holly Cathers, goes wild water rafting with her family and her best friend. A bad accident happens, and Holly is the only survivor. She has to live with her aunt and her two cousins. Once she gets there, some very mysterious things happen to her and she starts learning some very dark secrets about her, and her ancestors. 
 
Okay, so now you read that synopsis above, and you're probably thinking "OMG! That book's gotta be awesome!" Wrong. I really did not enjoy this book. It was mostly because it was kind of boring and confusing, and it seemed to drag on forever.
 
 This book really confused me. It was because of all the changes in point of view. One chapter you're reading about modern-day teenagers in Seattle, and the next chapter it's suddenly about some people in France in the middle ages. And the chapters in this book were really long. A lot of them were over 30 pages long.

 This book was just plain boring. I did not care for the characters and the writing was pretty bad. I don't recommend it.
 
 2/5